Children’s Belt Order: In Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, the belt order for children follows a similar structure to that of adults, but it includes additional colors to mark their progress. Children typically start with a white belt and progress through to green belts before reaching the adult belt system. Adults begin with a white belt and advance through blue, purple, brown, and black belts. Each belt represents a level of skill and knowledge, with the black belt being the ultimate symbol of mastery in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu for both children and adults alike.

Children that are 15 years or younger can be promoted in the following belt order:

  • white,
  • gray/white,
  • solid gray,
  • gray/black,
  • yellow/white,
  • solid yellow,
  • yellow/black,
  • orange/white,
  • solid orange,
  • orange/black,
  • green/white,
  • solid green,
  • green/black.

Each belt contains 5 levels, first the belt followed by four stripes. These stripes may be achieved through time, behavior, Jiu Jitsu knowledge, and competition performance.

The white belt is considered the beginner level.

  • The group of three gray belts are for children aged 4 through 15 years old.
  • The group of three yellow belts are for children 7 through 15 years old.
  • The group of orange belts are for children 10 through 15 years old.
  • The group of three green belts are for children 13 through 15 years old.

Children’s Belt Order: When a child turns 16, they must move to the adult system of belts.

White belts remain at white belts. Grey, yellow or orange belts can turn to white or blue belts at the coach’s decision. Green belt can turn to white, blue or purple belt according to the coach’s decision. Adults may be promoted through the following order: white, blue, purple, brown and black. Each belt requires a minimum time spent on the belt. You need to spend at least 2 years as a blue belt, 1.5 years as a purple and one year as a brown belt to get promoted.